U.S. Adds 2 Additional Chinese Entities to Export Blacklist

March 18, 2020 8:19 am

Beijing (PingWest)—The U.S. imposed new sanctions on Iran on Tuesday for posing a risk to U.S. national security and foreign policy interests. Six individuals and 18 corporations have been added on the Entity List, Department of Commerce announced.

The department said that among the entities, two were from China, one in Iran, nine in Pakistan, and five in the United Arab Emirates.

The two entities under the destination of China are Wuhan IRCEN Technology and Jalal Rohollahnejad, according to the U.S. Government's Federal Register.

The Entity List, operated by the Commerce Department's Bureau of Industry and Security, lists foreign entities that are barred from receiving some or all items subject to U.S. export regulations unless the exporter secures a license, according to the department. The list also details what scrutiny should be applied to each entity when applying for a license.

Prior to this, a number of high-profile Chinese tech firms, including Huawei, ZTE, Hikvision, Megvii, SenseTime, and Yitu Technologies, were placed on the list. Some of them are key industry players in the 5G telecommunication technology, while others build technologies that can be used in surveillance.